I’VE BEEN TAGGED BY "UNDER THE HOLLY TREE"

It’s always a great pleasure to chat with my dear friend and sister Robin but a few days ago something appeared different. When we talked, all she said in a very somber voice “check my blog”. I felt all of a sudden a knot forming in my stomach-cavity and some kind of hot flash made it’s way upwards to my head – I thought God knows what had happened.

I dropped everything and headed for the computer and when I opened her blog, there it was – I was among the five bloggers she had awarded the “Thinking Blogger Award“!
I was speechless ( and with tears in my eyes) … I had NEVER expected that and felt moved, honored – and humbled. Thanks so much Twinsie … you’re the GREATEST!!

These are the rules for participation – nothing complicated:

1. If, and only if, you get tagged, write a post with links to 5 blogs that make you think,
2. Link to this post so that people can easily find the exact origin of the meme,
3. Optional: Proudly display the ‘Thinking Blogger Award’ with a link to the post that you wrote.

After much consideration, here are the five “recipients” I chose:

1 – Dr Mona el-Farra’s blog “From Gaza, with Love“!
Mona describes herself as “physician by training, a human rights and women’s rights activist by practice, in the occupied Gaza Strip”. She is not only a wonderful human being (I had talked with her several times in the past), she does her utmost – sometimes under most difficult conditions – to provide us with the full picture of what is going on, not watered down – the REAL thing. At a time at which it becomes more and more challenging to receive news which defy every kind of censorship, she does a fantastic job to make sure, the world knows the truth … and does not rely on main-stream-media ONLY.

2 – The Syrian Brit’s blog “The Syrian Brit“!
Incidentally as well a physician and living in England, I greatly enjoy reading his posts. He has a striking way of describing situations and places, puts the reader right in the middle of events and is on top of all one of these human beings one simply feels good to correspond with.
What greatly impressed me (recent post) was the way he wrote about the love for his wife, the warmth, the honesty, depth – simply outstanding. He’s a GREAT human being and wonderful friend.

3 – Steve’s “Desert Peace“!
Steve … do I need to say a lot? Who doesn’t know him … outspoken as can be, a tireless fighter for justice and human rights, a humanitarian par excellence, peace-activist and friend! I guess that says it all … you’re GREAT Steve!!

4 – Abufares’ “The world according to a Tartoussi“!
It is my pleasure to award my very dear friend Abufares this award … I can’t think of anyone more worthy. A man who’s posts are as catchy as they are humorous, thought-provoking as they are informative. I sat many time reading his posts while laughing tears … his humor is priceless, his way of describing brilliant! Critical, funny, patriotic – incredibly eloquent!
OUTSTANDING indeed!!

5 – Moussa’s “UrShalim
Always challenging and thought-provoking with a large diversity of topics. Moussa is a wonderful writer and was one of the most brilliant reporters during Israel’s war with Lebanon last year. His information was mainly shaped by the human point of view, always up to date and gave precious insight of the situation on the ground almost hour for hour. A GREAT human and dear friend!

There are MANY bloggers who, in my opinion, do deserve this award but as there were only five “picks” …

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL RECIPIENTS … YOU’RE TRULY SPECIAL!!

Leave a Reply

